Spinal Management Clinics | Injury Rehabilitation | Workfit |Spinal Rehabilitation


Back

Spinal Management Clinics and Workfit


THE SCIENTIFIC EVIDENCE SHOWS THAT ACTIVITY AND EXERCISE IS THE BEST MEDICINE!

Spinal Management Clinics and Workfit are subdivisions of LifeCare that offer physiotherapy and multidisciplinary (Pain Physician, physiotherapy and psychology) treatment programs for musculoskeletal problems.  Our physiotherapists are actively engaged in conducting research on the best possible treatment for low back pain.  We can therefore provide an expert opinion on diagnosis and effective treatment of low back problems. 

For recent injuries the scientific research shows that education/advice, manual therapy and early return to activity including work is the best medicine.  However, for people failing to recover Spinal Management Clinics and Workfit have a number of treatment options to best suit the patient's needs.

Functional Restoration is a structured and supervised exercise and education program aimed at improving strength and ability to return to normal work, sport and recreation. Our Functional Restoration programs also incorporate specific muscle retraining, such as exercise for the core stability muscles of the lower back and pelvic girdle. As strength and understanding of the injury improves, the patient becomes more independent in their exercise program and their ability to self-manage their recovery.

For patients with significant psycho-social distress a multi-disciplinary Pain Management Program may be required. This follows similar principles to Functional Restoration but also incorporates input from our specialist Pain Physicians and psychologists.  Pain Management allows patients with more severe and complex chronic pain to return to a reasonable quality of life.

Spinal Management Clinics practitioners are WorkSafe and TAC "preferred providers" ensuring quick and easy access to assessment and treatment with minimal delay for program approval.

For patients with limited capacity to fund treatment programs our Manage your Pain Program provides 5 sessions of education, goal setting and graded exercises/activity over a 4 month period.  This evidence-based program is ideal for people funding physiotherapy with Medicare (EPC) or being referred by Job Seeking Assistance agencies.

For further information on Spinal Management Clinics or Workfit please see the links below or contact:

  • Dr Jon Ford on spinalmanagement@gmail.com or 0422 244 183 in Victoria
  • Mr Craig Elliott on craig.elliott@workfit.com.au or 0417 965 374 in WA



Centres offering this service


Altona North
LifeCare Westgate Physiotherapy
Corner Grieve Parade and Dohertys Rd
Altona North VIC 3025
Fax: 03 9369 8244
Email:westgate@lifecare.com.au
Ashburton
LifeCare Ashburton Sports Medicine
330 High Street
Ashburton VIC 3147
Fax: 03 9885 8668
Email:ashburton@lifecare.com.au
Boronia
LifeCare Boronia Physiotherapy
Level 1, 157 Scoresby Road
Boronia VIC 3155
Fax: 03 9839 3326
Email:boronia@lifecare.com.au
Bundoora
LifeCare LaTrobe Sports Medicine
La Trobe University Medical Centre,
Bundoora VIC 3083
Fax: 03 9473 8785
Email:nicole.mate@lifecare.com.au
Corio
Corio Physiotherapy Clinic
118 Bacchus Marsh Road
Corio VIC 3214
Fax: (03) 5274 2018
Email:davegoulding21@hotmail.com
Croydon
LifeCare Croydon Sports Medicine
383-387 Dorset Road
Croydon VIC 3136
Fax: 03 9725 1959
Email:croydon@lifecare.com.au
Frankston
LifeCare Frankston Physiotherapy
342 Nepean Highway
Frankston VIC 3199
Fax: 03 9770 2276
Email:info@lifecarefrankston.com
Geelong
Corio Bay Sports Medicine Centre
283 LaTrobe Terrace
Geelong VIC 3220
Fax: (03) 5229 4847
Email:davegoulding21@hotmail.com
Hoppers Crossing
Symmetry Physiotherapy and Sports Medicine
333 Old Geelong Road
Hoppers Crossing VIC 3029
Fax: (03) 9369 7499
Email:symmetry@symmetryphysio.com.au
Melbourne
LifeCare CBD Physiotherapy
8th Floor
Melbourne VIC 3000
Fax: 03 9670 3080
Email:cbdmelbourne@lifecare.com.au
Moonee Ponds
LifeCare Essendon Physiotherapy
Suite 1/767 Mt Alexander Rd
Moonee Ponds VIC 3039
Fax: (03) 9337 9829
Email:essendon@lifecare.com.au
Oak Park
Oak Park Physiotherapy Clinic
124 Snell Grove
Oak Park VIC
Fax: 03 9304 3434
Email:oakparkphysio@hna.com.au
Prahran
LifeCare Prahran Sports Medicine
316 Malvern Road
Prahran VIC 3181
Fax: 03 9529 4248
Email:prahran@lifecare.com.au
St Albans
LifeCare St Albans Physiotherapy
1/30-32 East Esplanade
St Albans VIC 3021
Fax: 03 9364 1774
Email:stalbans@lifecare.com.au
Thomastown
LifeCare Thomastown Physiotherapy
3 Highlands Road
Thomastown VIC 3074
Fax: 03 9464 0850
Email:thomastown@lifecare.com.au
Bicton
LifeCare Point Walter Physiotherapy
322-324 Canning Highway
Bicton WA 6157
Fax: 08 9438 3455
Email:bicton@lifecare.com.au
Claremont
LifeCare Claremont Physiotherapy
Level 2 Ashton Ave
Claremont WA 6010
Fax: (08) 9284 4585
Email:
Fremantle
LifeCare Fremantle Physiotherapy
Ground Floor, Ellen Health Medical
Fremantle WA 6160
Fax: 08 93357999
Email:fremantle@lifecare.com.au
Joondalup
LifeCare Joondalup Physiotherapy
Unit 1, 10 Reid Prom
Joondalup WA 6027
Fax: 08 9300 2384
Email:joondalup@lifecare.com.au
Madeley
LifeCare Kingsway Physiotherapy
Kingsway Medical Centre
Madeley WA 6065
Fax: 08 9409 3507
Email:kingsway@lifecare.com.au
Mt Pleasant
LifeCare Mt Pleasant Physiotherapy
Suite 2, 37 - 39 Reynolds Road
Mt Pleasant WA 6153
Fax: (08) 9315 3988
Email:mtpleasant@lifecare.com.au
Murdoch
SouthCare Physiotherapy
St John of God Medical Centre,
Murdoch WA 6150
Fax: 08 9332 2907
Email:southcare@lifecare.com.au
Ocean Reef
LifeCare Prendiville Physiotherapy
Unit 4, 4 Prendiville Avenue
Ocean Reef WA 6027
Fax: (08) 9300 8198
Email:prendiville@lifecare.com.au
Peppermint Grove
LifeCare Cottesloe Physiotherapy
Western Sports Medicine Centre Shop 42, Level 1 Cottesloe Central Shopping Centre
Peppermint Grove WA 6011
Fax: 08 9384 7211
Email:cottesloe@lifecare.com.au
Spearwood
LifeCare Phoenix Physiotherapy
Phoenix Medical Centre,
Spearwood WA 6163
Fax: 08 9434 3219
Email:phoenix@lifecare.com.au
Wembley
LifeCare Wembley Physiotherapy
202 Cambridge Street
Wembley WA 6014
Fax: (08) 94896222
Email:wembley@lifecare.com.au